Dipartimento di Scienze Economiche
UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma "La Sapienza"

Center for Full Employment and Price Stability
University of Missouri, Kansas City

University of Rome-CFEPS Workshop on 'Structural, Cyclical, and Systemic Causes of Unemployment: An International Approach'

Rome, March 14 and 15, 2003

Venue: Dipartimento di Scienze Economiche, Via Cesalpino 12 - 00161 Rome

Program

Friday 14, 1:45 pm to 7:00 pm

1st session, Chair: Maria Cristina Marcuzzo

1:45-2:00    Welcome address

2:00-2:30    Stephanie Bell and Randall Wray, 'What A Long, Strange Trip Itĺs Been: Can We Muddle Through Without Fiscal Policy?' (PowerPoint presentation)

Discussant: Sergio Cesaratto

2:45-3:30    General discussion

3:30-3:45    Break

3:45-4:15    J÷rg Bibow, 'Economic Prospects for the European Union - Doomed to stagnation? An analysis of the current crisis and recommendations for reforming macroeconomic policymaking in Euroland'

4:15-4:30    Discussant: Claudio Sardoni

4:30-5:15    General discussion

5:15-5:30    Break

2nd session, Chair: Randall Wray

5:30-6:15    Round Table, 'The State of the Economy: USA and Euroland'
In the panel: J÷rge Bibow, Mathew Forstater, Jan Kregel, Ester Fano, Fernando Vianello

6:15-7:00    General discussion

7:30    Dinner
(click here for details)

Saturday 15, 9:30 am  to 7:00 pm

 1st session, Chair: Claudio Sardoni

9:30-10:00    Anna Maria Simonazzi, 'Supply and demand factors in growth: US vs. Europe'

10:00-10:15    Discussant: Jan Kregel

10:15-11:00    General discussion

11:00-11:15     Break

11:15-11:45    Mathew Forstater, 'Public Employment, Flexibility, and Sustainability'

11:45-12:00    Discussant: Maurizio Franzini

12.00-12.45    General discussion

12:45-13:45    Lunch

2nd session, Chair: Alessandro Roncaglia

2:15-2:45    Paolo Piacentini, 'Final Demand, growth and employment'

2:45-3:00    Discussant: Marcella Corsi

3:00-3:45    General discussion

3:45-4:00         Break

4:00-4:30    Jan Kregel, 'International division of labor and problems for developing nations'

4:30-4:45    Discussant: Paolo Palazzi

4:45-5:30    General Discussion

5:30-5:45         Break

5:45-6:30    Maria Cristina Marcuzzo-Anna Maria Simonazzi, 'A summing up, and directions for future collaboration'

Participants

Stephanie Bell, Department of Economics, University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA, bellsa@umkc.edu

J÷rg Bibow, Universitńt Hamburg, Institut fŘr Statistik und Íkonometrie, Germany, bibow@econ.uni-hamburg.de

Sergio Cesaratto, Dipartimento di Economia Politica, UniversitÓ di Siena, Italy, cesaratto@unisi.it

Marcella Corsi, FacoltÓ di Economia,  LUISS, Roma, Italy,  mcorsi@luiss.it.

Ester Fano, Dipartimento di Scienze Economiche, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, Ester.fano@uniroma1.it

Mathew Forstater, Department of Economics, University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA, forstaterm@umkc.edu

Maurizio Franzini, Dipartimento di Economia Pubblica, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, franzini@unisi.it

Jan A. Kregel, UNCTAD, New York, Department of Economics, University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA, Dipartimento di Economia UniversitÓ degli Studi di Bologna, Italy, kregel-ny@un.org

Maria Cristina Marcuzzo, Dipartimento di Scienze Economiche, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, cristina.marcuzzo@uniroma1.it

Paolo Palazzi, Dipartimento di Scienze Economiche, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, paolo.palazzi@uniroma1.it

Paolo Piacentini, Dipartimento di Scienze Economiche, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, paolo.piacentini@uniroma1.it

Alessandro Roncaglia, Dipartimento di Scienze Economiche, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, alessandro.roncaglia@uniroma1.it

Claudio Sardoni, Dipartimento di Scienze Economiche, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, claudio.sardoni@uniroma1.it

Anna Maria Simonazzi, Dipartimento di Economia Pubblica, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, simon@dep.eco.uniroma1.it

Fernando Vianello, Dipartimento di Economia Pubblica, UniversitÓ degli Studi di Roma, "La Sapienza", Italy, vianello@dep.eco.uniroma1.it

Randall Wray, Department of Economics, University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA, wrayr@umkc.edu